Access Staff Email

Talk to Us



Staff Email

The Court of Appeal

The Judiciary > The Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal of Kenya is established under Article164 of the constitution of Kenya and consists of a number of judges, being not fewer than twelve. The Court of Appeal handles appeals arising over the decisions of the High Court,Employment and Labour Relations Court ,Environment and Land Court  as well as any other court or Tribunal as provided for in Law. The court comprises a maximum of 30 Judges. The Judges of the Court of Appeal elect a President from among themselves.

The Court has permanent benches in Nairobi, Mombasa, Nyeri and Kisumu. The court also has sub-registries in Nakuru, Eldoret, Garissa, Busia, Kisii, Meru, Malindi and Kakamega where matters are filed and judges visit on circuit.

The President of the court, is elected under Article164(2) of the Constitution by the judges of the court for a non-renewable term of five years. He has supervisory powers over the court and reports to the Chief Justice. On administrative matters the President works with the Chief Registrar of the Judiciary.

The Registrar of the court is responsible for the day today administration of the court.

The Honorable President of the Court of Appeal of Kenya formally issued the Court of Appeal Civil Appeals and Applications Practice Directions on Thursday the 19th March, 2015. The Practice Directions are in force effective from the date of issue.

Skip to content